The Assent Difference…

permanentAssent Publishing welcomes our guest blogger today, 2013 Great Romance Contest Finalist Winning Author, Kim Carmichael! For more info, check out http://www.assentpublishing.com/BreathlessSubmissions.aspx

Choosing a publisher is a lot like choosing a spouse. You have two parties who come together, need to work together, and live together, and then they create a baby, namely your book.

Like any other relationship there will always be a give and take, you will have to learn to communicate, and at the end of the day if all works out well, you will both be stronger for it and you will forge a long-term relationship. I am happy to say I have found that relationship with Assent Publishing.

I became associated with Assent when I entered their 2013 Great Romance Contest. My manuscript, Permanent, was chosen as a finalist and I was offered a contract for the entire Indelibly Marked series. It was at that moment that I realized the difference between Assent and other publishers I have worked with.

????????????????????????????????????????PERSONALIZED TREATMENT

From the beginning, I was more than an email address. I wasn’t simply emailed a contract. Assent Publishing’s owner Les Denton scheduled a call with me to review the contract, and I had the opportunity to ask questions. As an author it is easy to become enamored with any publisher who accepts your work, and it is very easy to sign something without realizing exactly what you signed due to excitement. I appreciated Assent taking this extra step with me. I have also had the privilege of talking to both of my imprint editors on the phone. Sometimes hearing a voice makes all the difference.

Assent AcademyASSENT ACADEMY

Probably the largest difference between Assent and other publishers is the Assent Academy. They are the first publisher to truly address the issue of author marketing. Run by Deborah Riley-Magnus – the guru behind author platforms and cross marketing – the Assent Academy helps each author build their brand from the ground up, and covers everything from social media presence to publicity and promotions. Every new author must complete and pass the Assent Academy but trust me, this is only a good thing. You leave the academy a transformed person, ready to take on the marketing of your book with a solid plan.

eyeglassesTOP NOTCH EDITING

Editing is as important to the story process as writing the story. It is always hard to hand over your manuscript to your imprint editor and wait to find out what needs to be changed. With Assent this process was absolutely painless. Assent goes through several different layers of editing and proofreading and the editors are always continuing their education and polishing their skills. When I got my edited manuscript, I didn’t look at it longing for what had once been on the page, or feel as if my editor was following some predetermined checklist to squash my voice. Rather I got back my story that sounded as I intended. In fact, I couldn’t even see the edits. All I knew was my story was tighter, that last little bit it needed to shine.

productAN AMAZING FINISHED PRODUCT

By the time my cover was complete, the formatting done, the editing and proofing finished, I was given the joy of being presented with a top-notch finished product, along with the tools I needed to let the world know about my book.

The word assent means to come to an agreement. By joining the Assent team, I can say the name fits because you work hand in hand with a publisher who will treat you like no other. I am more than proud to be part of this amazing team.

BreathlessContestFinalistSmKIM CARMICHAEL BIO

Kim Carmichael began writing nine years ago when her love of happy endings inspired her to create her own.

A Southern California native, Kim’s contemporary romance combines Hollywood magic with pop culture to create quirky characters set against some of most unique and colorful settings in the world.

With a weakness for designer purses, bad boys and techno geeks, Kim married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running and finally admitted handbags were an investment.

Kim is a member of the Romance Writers of America, as well as some small specialty chapters. A multi-published author, Kim’s books can be found on Amazon, Barnes & Nobel, Kobo, Apple and Sony. From alcohol to makeup to infrared cameras and even scientific lasers studying the atmosphere, Kim has worked in some aspect of sales and marketing for over twenty years.

www.indleliblymarked.com

https://www.facebook.com/indeliblymarked.com

http://www.amazon.com/Kim-Carmichael/e/B0098RNFUI/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

@kimcarmichael4

Permanent – Book One of the Indelibly Marked Series

What is Permanent?

Always on the outside looking in, accountant, Lindsay Stevens, has calculated her transformation from a small town, nerdy bookkeeper to a sleek, high-powered accountant down to the last penny. With all her checks finally in balance, she moves to California to start a new life free of her embarrassing past she never wants revealed.

As Hollywood’s hottest tattoo artist, Shane Elliott thrives on standing out. Charismatic and free of commitments, he travels through life with a wink and a smile, hiding the letters he receives from the IRS as if they don’t exist. Now with bills to pay and tax collectors breathing down his back, for the first time in his life Shane can’t charm his way out of his situation. However, when his new neighbor literally falls into his life, he knows he has struck gold once again.

Though Lindsay tries to keep her distance, she suddenly finds herself trying to hide her true self as she thrust into a world she doesn’t think she belongs, but can’t resist. In his good-time life, Shane must discover there is more to life than a party if he wants something more.

With their lives intertwined, the two must learn accept each other, themselves and their love.

Worlds collide as they decide what is truly permanent.

Permanent is the first book in the Indelibly Marked Series that follows the lives and loves of those surrounding Permanent Tattoo.

Look for Temporary, Book Two of the Indelibly Marked Series Summer 2014.

This entry was posted in Assent POV, Breathless Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

