Author Paul DeThroe and his “Rise of the Raven Knights” Series

writingWelcome to the Phantasm Blog! Today we’re featuring Phantasm Author, Paul DeThroe.

I’m often asked why I started writing, or more specifically, what inspires me to write. I would like to offer a huge thank you to Phantasm’s Managing Imprint Editor, Deborah Riley-Magnus, for offering me this tremendous opportunity to write a guest blog for Phantasm Books. I knew there would be no easy answer to her request to tell you all why I write. Sure, I could give the typical answer about how I write for the love of writing, but I wanted to take this a little deeper.

Writing a novel is a monumental undertaking, and it’s really just the beginning. After the initial writing there is editing, and more editing and more editing before you send it to an editor. Then they come back to you with ideas and more editing, and believe it or not, that’s the fun part!

dragon on bookThe reason I write is because I love to read. I always have been an involved reader, even as a little kid. I remember reading King Arthur, Robin Hood, The Iliad and Odyssey, Tom Sawyer, and Huckleberry Finn when I was in the fifth grade. That was the first opportunity I had to choose what I read and then write reports about it. Boy, I was in heaven!

As I grew up, I read classics by Ernest Hemingway, John Steinbeck, JRR Tolkien, Jules Verne and Isaac Asimov. Now I am a Bernard Cornwell fanatic. I love dark fiction, fantasy, horror, and science fiction. I’m very passionate about writing great stories and books in those genres.

When I was in my late thirties, I went back to college to finish my degree. My first English professor gave me a short story writing assignment. Of course, I have dabbled in creative writing before, but I had never sat down and wrote an actual fictional story. I got an A on the paper, and the piece was eventually published by a horror e-zine. More importantly, I

was bitten by the writing bug, or dare I say, hooked for life!

Red DragonWith the Suffer the Witch Chronicles series, I decided to take my dark fantasy in a decidedly drastic direction in order to explore the urban fantasy genre. The seed of the idea came from a dream I had about an old witch who crashed her car in front of my house. In that dream I attempted to save her but was unable to. With her dying wish, she bestowed all her supernatural powers to me. Suddenly I was a dragon, flying above the world of evil and protecting my loved ones from danger. When I awoke, I made a bee-line to the computer and got that idea down.

I didn’t start writing the story for over a year, but when I did, the words flowed like magic. Just like when I read, the story played out like I was watching a movie. Writing book one, Rise of the Raven Knights, was such a breath of fresh air to me. I am proud to finally be able to share it with the world. Parts two and three are already written and in the editing process. Hopefully the urban fantasy community will get as hooked on the story as I am.

wizardThe characters in Rise of the Raven Knights are brother/sister team Gazzy and Lori Windstorm and the brave leader of their band of undead knights, Sir Giovalde. They are imperfect heroes, feeling their way through the supernatural world in which they’ve found themselves. They are intrigued by the potential of their new mystical powers and quickly identify a powerful opportunity to right many wrongs targeted at them. The antagonists, Whitney McCracken, Troy Windstorm and Lilith, are as cunning, evil and manipulative as I could stir up. Their ambitions are grand and their motives, compelling.

The friction between these two opposing forces propel the plot into a fast moving but deeply intriguing story about the raging war between good and evil witches, gargoyles, dragons and demons. This book will charm and excite you!

After the completion of the Suffer the Witch Chronicles series, I plan to write a totally new and different novel. No spoilers just yet, but one thing is for certain, it will be as dark as I can possibly make it!

DeThroe - Rise of the Raven Knights 750 x 1200Rise of the Raven Knights

For the latest news and more about my writing, please visit http://pauldethroe.com

Feel free to pop in at my bi-weekly dark fiction blog at http://dethroesufferthewitch.blogspot.com!

This entry was posted in Awesome Reads, Phantasm Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

